Cedar Planked Salmon with Mango-Kiwi Salsa, Angel Hair Pasta and A Cheesy, Nutty Salad

27 May

So my oldest baby girl started this intense 2 week swimming lesson this past Monday. The class requires her to be in the pool precisely at 5pm. Which means both my hubby and I have been quite busy adjusting our schedules to get her there on time. Is it an adjustment? Yes! Has there been a total wrench in routine? Yes! However, as a person who did not learn to swim (I know, I know, shame on me), I think it’s of the upmost importance that my children learn to swim. Not to mention, at least three of my immediate neighbors have pools and my child has already been to her share of pool parties. The point is my children are required to learn to swim.

Anyway, as usual I digress.  I said all of that to say, I didn’t get to cook dinner for 3 days. Monday didn’t matter as I had made plenty on Sunday. However, Tuesday and Wednesday I had to succumb to lures of Fast Food.

By Thursday I knew that I could not eat another greasy meal. I was already starting to feel bloated, lethargic and energy deprived. I wanted some real food that would tantalize and excite my tastebuds without making my esophagus feeling like a oily slip and slide.

So after looking through my recipes I decided I would make Salmon with a Mango-Kiwi salsa.  I served it with angel hair pasta in a marinara sauce and a simple salad topped with fresh mozzarella cheese and praline coated pecans.  It’s quick but satisfying to the palate.  The fruit salsa is a nice addition and really adds a nice summery touch to the salmon.  The salmon recipe is one that I got out of Cooking Light Magazine many years ago.  My version is slightly altered as I like to make it on the grill using cedar planks.  The cedar gives the fish a nice taste that compliments the fruit.  

Ingredients
  • Salmon:
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 2 teaspoons low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon fresh or dry italian herbs
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon herbed sea salt (or regular salt)
  • 4 (6-ounce) salmon fillets (about 1 inch thick)
  • Cedar Planks
  • Relish:
  • 1/2 cup diced peeled mango
  • 1/2 cup cubed peeled kiwifruit
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1/4 cup fresh orange juice
Preparation
  • Soak Cedar-Plank for about 30 min in water or according to directions.
  • To prepare salmon, combine first 6 ingredients in a large zip-top plastic bag. Add fish to bag; seal. Marinate 10 minutes, turning occasionally.
  • While fish marinates, heat grill to 400 degrees.
  • Remove fish from bag, discarding marinade.  Place salmon filets on the cedar board.
  • Place planked salmon on the grill and cook for 10-15 minutes or until fish flakes easily.
  • While fish cooks, prepare the relish. Combine mango and the remaining ingredients. Serve over fish.

As for the pasta it was a simple Angel hair pasta with a fresh marinara sauce that I buy pre-made.  It’s just a tad more expensive than the jar sauce but I find it to be worth it when I’m pressed for time and just don’t feel like making my own sauce.  I also spiced it up by adding fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, a drizzle of herb olive oil and freshly shredded parmesan cheese.  Yummy, is the word for this pasta.  Plus my oldest daughter loves this pasta so I really enjoy seeing her eyes light up when it’s brought to the table.

The salad was just some romaine lettuce & spinach leaves which I chopped and then topped with coated pecans and fresh mozzarella cheese.  I like using the pecans because it gives a sweetness and crunchiness to the salad.  The cheese not only adds another level of flavor, it also gives the salad more texture.  Trust me if you throw plain lettuce on a plate, it will likely end up in the garbage disposal.  Well at least in my family.  A few simple toppings added and now another vegetable is being eaten at dinner.  Bon Appetit!

Mango, Kiwi and Cilantro, all chopped up ready to be mixed so the flavors can blend together.

Fresh Salmon soaking up all of the marinade.Cedar Plank Boards. Just finished soaking.

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Cedar Plank Boards. Just finished soaking.

 

 

I love cooking salmon on cedar planks. Great flavor & it absorbs excess oil so you get firm, flaky salmon.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

MMMM, al dente pasta with marina sauce, cherry tomatoes, fresh basil and shredded parmesan cheese!

 

Final step was to add the salad and Voila! Dinner is done.

Leave a Reply

