Getting Rid Of Leftovers

15 May

So, I had a busy day today and finally arrived home with a growling belly. There’s something you should know about me. When I’m really hungry I get frustrated. And, there’s no greater frustration than not having something satisfying and ready to eat.

Well, that was me today. I looked in the fridge and saw nothing that immediately called me out. Penny, Penny, eat me. That’s what I wanted to hear but I wasn’t hearing it.

I saw some spinach and shrimp hiding in the corner. I had made that for dinner yesterday and served it with rice. It was good yesterday but I just didn’t feel like eating it again today. There was also some leftover brushetta that I had used as a dip for my favorite blue corn chips. However, I really wasn’t in the mood for dipping. There was lunch meat and I always keep an assortment of cheeses (fresh mozzarella balls, cheddar, parmesan, etc). Again, not really hearing Penny, Penny, come eat me for dinner.

There was plenty of food in the fridge but nothing was really seducing my taste buds. Just when I was about to give up, I thought I would peep in the fridge. That’s when I noticed a single Garlic Naan Bread. For those who may not know, Naan Bread is Indian style Tandoori flat bread. While it’s usually served as a side item at many Indian recipes, I like to use it to make pizza.

That’s when it all hit me. Ohhhh, what if I took the fresh Mozzarella cheese balls and sliced it and placed it over the pizza. Then I decided to spread some of the Spinach and Shrimp on top of the Mozzarella. Shoot, while I’m cleaning the fridge, why not throw that Brushetta on top of everything. Finally, I topped it all off with a little Cheddar Cheese.

My little creation was then thrown in a 425 degree oven for about 10-15 mins until the pizza got a nice golden brown.

I had to hurry and snap the picture because it was pretty much devoured after that….Don’t judge me:)

20110514-095637.jpg

One Response to “Getting Rid Of Leftovers”

  1. Tiffany May 15, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

    Hey lady, that looks delish! Way to make due with what you already have…and I am loving the blog!

Leave a Reply

